Hangzhou , Zhejiang

Theme and Speaker

Current Position : Home > Theme and Speaker > Moderator
  • James E. Duggan
    (CAFLL Executive Board Co-Chair, 2017 CAFLL Conference Program Committee Member, & Moderator) James E. Duggan is Director of the Law Library and Associate Professor of Law at Tulane University Law School. He holds degrees from Virginia Tech, the University of Mississippi, and Louisiana State University. He joined the Tulane faculty in 2008 after 20 years with Southern Illinois University Law School. He served as president of the AALL from 2008-2009 and, in 2014, was inducted into the AALL Hall of Fame. Duggan is currently editor in chief of the Law Library Journal and is a former chair of both the AALS Section on Law Libraries and Legal Information and the Louisiana Library Network Consortium (LOUIS).
  • Wei Luo
    (CAFLL Executive Board Co-chair& 2017 Conference Program Committee Member) Wei Luo is Director of Technical Services and Lecturer in Law at the Washington University School of Law Library. He oversees the operations of the Technical Services Division of the Law Library (including acquisitions, cataloging, and serials), teaches legal research, and provides reference services. He earned a J.D. from the Lewis and Clark Law School and a M.L.S. with a Certificate in Law Librarianship from the University of Washington. Between 1984 and 1987, he was an instructor at Xiamen University School of Law, where he taught international trade law and international commercial law. In addition to his library and teaching duties, Luo has published several books, in both English and Chinese, on Chinese law.
  • Joan Howland
    (CAFLL Executive Board Honorary Chair & Speaker) Joan S. Howland is the Roger F. Noreen Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Information & Technology at the University of Minnesota Law School. Her scholarship focuses on American Indian law and culture, cyberlaw, legal research methodologies, international trends in legal education, and law-library organizational management. Howland has been active in several professional organizations including the American Bar Association Section on Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar, serving on the Law School Accreditation Committee, and as a member and chair of the ABA Council. She is the 2017 recipient of the AALS Section on Law Libraries and Legal Information Award.
  • Robert H. Hu
    (2017 CAFLL Conference Planning Committee Co-Chairman, CAFLL Membership Committee Co-Chairman, & Moderator) Dr. Robert H. Hu is Professor of Law and Library Director at St. Mary’s University School of Law in San Antonio, Texas. He has an LL.B. from Peking University and an LL.M. from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana. He also holds a Ph.D. in education from the University of Illinois. He teaches the courses Advanced Legal Research and International Intellectual Property Law. His research and scholarship focus on Chinese IP law, legal research, and bibliographies. He has given many presentations at professional conferences and published several articles and research guides, including three books on Chinese IP law research. Hu is an elected member of the American Law Institute (ALI). He is an active member of the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) and the Association of American Law Schools (AALS). He has served on several AALL committees over the last twenty years.
  • Frank Yining Liu
    Frank Yining Liu is Associate Dean for Legal Programs, Professor of Law, and Director of the Center for Legal Information/Allegheny County Law Library and Paralegal Institute at Duquesne University School of Law. He received his LL.B. from National Taiwan University and his M.C.J and M.L.S from the University of Texas at Austin. He is an honorary professor of China University of Political Science and Law and the Beijing Jiaotong University and a visiting professor at the Southwest University of Political Science and Law in Chongqing, China. Liu co-authored Pennsylvania Legal Research Handbook. He has served on numerous committees and the executive board of the AALL, and he is a co-founder of CAFLL. In 2016, he received the AALL Hall of Fame Award.
  • Linda Wen
    Linda Wen is Head of Collections and Bibliographic Services at American University Washington College of Law’s Pence Law Library, where she manages the metadata of library materials and supervises the cataloging 图书编目;目录 of technical services. Before joining the Pence Law Library, Wen was Head of Library IT at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Wen’s current research focuses on linked data and library metadata in the Semantic Web.
First Prev Next Last Current : 1/4 Pages